Clubs & Organizations

Group picture of club members
full

off
Student Clubs & Organization

The Science of Success begins here! To make sure you learn all you can, NDSCS sponsors over 30 student-run clubs and organizations. If you're serious about getting ahead in life, there's no better place than here to begin.

Club Advisor / Phone Email
Agri-Business Club Craig Zimprich / 671-2249 craig.a.zimprich@ndscs.edu
Allied Dental Club Mallory Regan / 671-2107 mallory.regan@ndscs.edu
Auto Tech Club Lynnette Krack / 671-2412 lynnette.krack@ndscs.edu
Campus Activities Board Jeff Bass / 671-2185
Alissa Sherven / 671-2404
jeffrey.bass@ndscs.edu
alissa.sherven@ndscs.edu
Cru Seth Simonson / 671-2345 seth.simonson@ndscs.edu
Chefs Club Kyle Armitage / 671-2264 kyle.armitage@ndscs.edu
Civil Technology Club Jeff Jelinek / 671-2268
Seth Simonson / 671-2268

jeff.jelinek@ndscs.edu
seth.simonson@ndscs.edu

Clay Target Team Erin Johnson / 671-2278 erin.j.johnson@ndscs.edu
Collegiate DECA Greg Anderson / 671-2172 greg.anderson@ndscs.edu
Construction Design Technology Club Lara Lekang / 671-2592

lara.g.lekang@ndscs.edu

Diesel Club Barry Frank / 671-2793 barry.frank@ndscs.edu
Drama Melissa Frank / 715-308-1878 melissa.e.frank@ndscs.edu
Ducks Unlimited College Chapter Margaret Brady / 671-2119 margaret.brady@ndscs.edu
Electrical Club John Travis / 671-2783
Slade Fitzgerald / 671-2568
john.travis@ndscs.edu
slade.fitzgerald@ndscs.edu
EMS Club Tom Dobrzynski / 701-231-6978 thomas.dobrzynski@ndscs.edu
eSports Team Colby Youngquist / 671-3029
Matt Diischer / 671-2209
c.youngquist@ndscs.edu
matt.diischer@ndscs.edu
Football Eric Issendorf / 671-2447 eric.issendorf@ndscs.edu
HVAC Club Mark Wood / 671-2797
Jeff Kukert / 671-2515
mark.wood@ndscs.edu
jeffrey.kukert@ndscs.edu
ICT Club (Information and Communications Technology) John Kroshus / 701-231-2115 john.kroshus@ndscs.edu
International Society of Automation Lonnie Wurst / 671-2832
Slade Fitgerald / 671-2568
lonnie.wurst@ndscs.edu
slade.fitzgerald@ndscs.edu
Jazz Band Dr. Adam Hollingsworth / 671-2871 adam.hollingsworth@ndscs.edu
Machinist's Club Lincoln Thompson / 671-2498 lincoln.thompson@ndscs.edu
Media Squad Kerri Kava / 671-2109
Alissa Sherven / 671-2404
kerri.kava@ndscs.edu
alissa.sherven@ndscs.edu
Men's Basketball Stu Engen / 671-2446 stuart.engen@ndscs.edu
NDSCS Ambassadors Hannah Franks / 671-2234
Courtney Diestler / 671-2188
hannah.franks@ndscs.edu
courtney.diestler@ndscs.edu
NDSCS Pride Allison Gomes / 671-2541
Kijia Homes / 671-2258
allison.gomes@ndscs.edu
kijia.homes@ndscs.edu
Occupational Therapy Assistant Club Missi Twidwell / 671-2685 missi.twidwell@ndscs.edu
Phi Theta Kappa Erin Johnson / 671-2278
Shannon King / 671-2296
Jeff Hart / 671-2342
erin.j.johnson@ndscs.edu
shannon.king@ndscs.edu
jeffrey.hart@ndscs.edu
Powersports Technology Club Luke Kasowski / 671-2544 luke.kasowski@ndscs.edu
Robotics Club Lonnie Wurst / 671-2832

lonnie.wurst@ndscs.edu

Skills USA Chuck Campbell / 671-2560
Mike Seedorf / 671-2101
Derrick Sundeen / 671-2657
charles.campbell@ndscs.edu
michael.l.seedorf@ndscs.edu
derrick.sundeen@ndscs.edu
Student Practical Nursing Club Jeri Christiansen / 671-2640 jeri.christiansen@ndscs.edu
Student Senate Kerri Kava / 671-2109
Dr. Jane Vangsness Frisch / 671-2627
kerri.kava@ndscs.edu
jane.vangsness@ndscs.edu
Tabletop Gaming Club Colby Youngquist / 671-2847 c.youngquist@ndscs.edu
Volleyball Jane Passa / 671-2445 jane.passa@ndscs.edu
Welding Club Vance Harthun / 671-2434 vance.harthun@ndscs.edu
Wildcat Singers Bryan Poyzer / 671-2872 bryan.poyzer@ndscs.edu
Women's Basketball Thomas Dryburgh / 671-2285 thomas.dryburgh@ndscs.edu
Women's Softball Michael Oehlke / 671-2449 michael.oehlke@ndscs.edu
Annual Club Membership Form

All clubs are required to submit their officers and club roster to the Department of Student Life annually. This information is used for our general education report.

Annual Club Membership Form

Service-Learning Project Proposal Form

Club Service-Learning Guidelines

Purpose

The Student Senate supports service learning and has required all clubs participate in no less than one service-learning project annually in order for clubs to remain an NDSCS officially recognized club. Students' college experience can be greatly enhanced by providing a service to someone in need.  

What is Service Learning?

Service learning is a teaching and learning strategy that integrates meaningful community service with instruction and reflection to enrich the learning experience, teach civic responsibility and strengthen communities.

Why Service Learning?

Service-Learning:

  • leads to engagement
  • helps achieve good citizenship
  • fosters the development of important personal and social skills
  • develops stronger ties to schools, communities and society
  • promotes exploration of various career pathways
  • is associated with positive school environments
  • is associated with more community support for schools

A Successful Service-Learning Experience will have four components:

  1. Investigate Determine an area of need in your school or community. Contact the area in need to determine how you can implement and plan how you can help
  2. Prepare/Plan Work with your advisor or the agency that you are assisting to create a plan. What is your goal? What steps do you need to take to accomplish your goal? What supplies do you need?
  3. Action Plan a time to help when most or all of your club members are able to attend. Then, begin your project.  
  4. Reflection Reflect on your experience as a group. Discuss together what you learned. Consider the following questions:
  • Did you accomplish your goal?
  • What did you learn from this opportunity?
  • Would you recommend completing this project again? Why or why not?
  • Did you receive any feedback?  

Selecting a Project

The project should:

  • Benefit a school or community organization
  • Benefit a non-profit or individual in need
  • Be realistic and obtainable
  • Be 100% volunteer (you or your club is not paid in money or any other benefit for doing so)
  • Make a difference

Examples include:

  • Field of study experience
  • Be a part of a bigger service-learning project, (i.e. United Way Day of Caring)
  • Address service and maintenance needs
  • Serving the homeless and/or hungry
  • Creating awareness for oppression
  • Helping the environment
  • Fostering the arts
  • Promoting literacy
  • Volunteering with animals
  • Advocating for social justice
  • Creating awareness for violence and abuse prevention
  • Serving the elderly or young children
  • Creating opportunities for or supporting education

As a reminder, you are representing your program, club and NDSCS:

  • Listen carefully and follow directions
  • Honor time commitments
  • Arrive prepared
  • Ask questions so you understand expectations
  • Uphold the NDSCS Student Rights & Responsibilities: a Code of Conduct at all times

Service Learning Project Proposal

Club Year-End Evaluation Form

All club advisors are required to submit a year-end evaluation of club activities. This information is used for our general education report and to communicate with incoming students about the nature of this club.

Club Year-End Evaluation

Club Fundraising Application

Eligibility 

Any NDSCS official student club in good standing may apply to raise funds.

Authorization

No student fundraising activity may take place without prior Student Senate approval. Fundraising petitions are approved on a first-come, first-serve basis. All petitions must be completed in full and submitted at least two weeks prior to starting the fundraising activity. The Student Senate will approve or deny all club and/or organization fundraising requests. The Student Senate may determine a time limit, prices of items/services to be sold and priority of conflicting fundraising applications, if necessary.

Examples of approved projects are:

  • Sale of merchandise
  • Sale of services
  • Raffles

Clubs wishing to hold functions off-campus must first secure the approval from their advisor before presenting their application to the Student Senate.

Location 

All student fundraising (except certain designated off-campus projects) must be conducted from an approved area. This information must be shared on your fundraising application. The club is responsible for reserving space in the Lobby of the Hektner Student Center with the Department of Student Life or the Front Desk at NDSCS Fargo prior to contacting Student Senate.

Restrictions

No soliciting is permitted outside the designated locations, but services contracted within the location may be performed outside. Absolutely no off-campus soliciting is allowed, door-to-door business, locally or any other place. A club found in violation is immediately suspended until further notice. Only activities which provide a direct benefit to the students, such as merchandise, services, or entertainment will be approved.

All financial obligations are the responsibility of the club.  

Evaluation 

A fundraising report must be completed and submitted to the Student Senate within two weeks after each fundraising event. New petitions will not be issued to organizations whose report of a previous project is not on file.

Violators of these requirements shall incur immediate suspension of charter and shall be officially notified. The Student Senate will conduct a hearing which could result in temporary or permanent loss of charter as well as loss of campus privileges, such as eligibility for funding, use of college resources, campus meeting sites, homecoming allocation, inter-collegiate associations, advisor, fundraising activities, or other as specified at the time of the hearing. The faculty or staff advisor will be notified that a hearing is being conducted and will be notified of any actions that are taken.

Club Fundraising Application

Club Fundraising Report

All clubs participating in a fundraising project must complete a report within two weeks of the project's completion.

Club Fundraising Report

Club Funding Request Form

Eligibility

  • Must be recognized as an official NDSCS club.
  • Must provide all information required in the Annual Club Membership Form.
  • Must provide all information required in the Club Funding Request Form below.

Guidelines

Club funding guidelines allow no more than 50% funding for any request, pending availability of funds. Your request must reflect this:

  • Only student expenses can be paid with club funds
  • Individual dues or club membership fees may not be paid from club funds

Provide the following: list of members attending this trip, trip itinerary, quote and/or invoice for transportation, receipts for expenses incurred.

Notification

An award letter will be sent to the advisor's email address in November

May a club submit more than one request?

Clubs may submit up to 3 requests per academic year. Only one request can be submitted at a time. Please use the form below for each request.

How does a club obtain funds once approved?

Depending on if you prefer an interdepartmental transfer of funds or a check, sign a standardized NDSCS Request for Payment Form (RFP) or Interdepartmental Billing Form (IDB):

  • A copy of the appropriate form (RFP or IDB) will be included with your award letter
  • Attach an updated list of members attending (if membership roster has changed since you originally submitted)
  • Forward to ndscs.studentlife@ndscs.edu or drop off at the Student Life Department, Hektner Student Center

Deadline to submit for approved funding: May 29, 2020

Club Funding Request Form

What if I need funding prior to my club trip?

The process above for obtaining funds must be submitted 3 weeks prior to the club trip. If the club does not spend all of the funds received, the balance must be returned within 10 days to Student Life.

Start a New Club

Have an idea for a new club or organization? We recognize our students unique interests and encourage you to start a new club if what interests you isn't currently represented in the list above. To create a new club:

  • Talk to NDSCS Faculty and Staff to identify a new club advisor (advisor must be full-time benefited NDSCS faculty or staff); then
  • Complete the Petition to Organize and Charter a New Campus Organization form.
  • Once complete, the form will be submitted to the NDSCS Student Senate and routed for official approval.

If you have further questions, please call Student Life at 701-671-2109.

Club Constitution & Bylaws Template

Club Risk Assessment

Clubs and organizations are encouraged to review the forms below to determine risk involved with club activities.

Risk Assessment Guide

Instructions Risk Management Worksheet