Safe Zone

NDSCS: A Place for Everyone

All students, faculty and staff deserve to learn in an environment that’s supportive and friendly, regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity/expression.

Safe Zone is a program designed to:

  • Educate people about sexual orientation and gender identity/expression issues.
  • Create a visible network of Allies to provide support to the NDSCS lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) community.
  • Provide accurate information about sexual orientation and gender identity/expression issues and resources within the community.
Safe Zone
Look for the Safe Zone Symbol

Anyone displaying the Safe Zone symbol has committed to being an understanding, supportive and trustworthy Ally for LGBTQ members of our College community. This person can also be counted upon to provide accurate information about sexual orientation and gender identity issues.

off
NDSCS Allies

The Safe Zone program is growing at NDSCS – check often to see our updated list of allies. Also, the Student Advocate is available in Old Main and coordinates the Safe Zone program.

Safe Zone Allies are not personal counselors, but they offer a safe place for LGBTQ individuals to be themselves. An ally listens. An ally respects confidentiality. An ally offers support, personally and through outside resources and referrals. An ally understands!

NDSCS Ally List
A

Dana Anderson
Haverty Hall 216, English/Humanities
dana.anderson@ndscs.edu

Nicole Ashe
NDSCS-Fargo 183F, Enrollment Services
nicole.ashe@ndscs.edu

B

Marquisia Bashir
Wahpeton, Student
marquis.bashir@ndscs.edu

Kathryn Beherns
Haverty 223, English/Humanities
kathryn.beherns@ndscs.edu

Sandra Benedict
Hektner Student Center, Dining Services
sandra.benedict@ndscs.edu

Adam Berg
Forkner Hall 241, Residential Life
adam.m.berg@ndscs.edu

Aaron Bertens
Wahpeton, Student
bertensaaron@gmail.com

Isaac Blazek
Wahpeton, Student
Isaac.blazek@ndscs.edu

Shelley Blome
Haverty Hall 101, Financial Aid
shelley.blome@ndscs.edu

Susan Bronson
Haverty Hall 101, Financial Aid
susan.bronson@ndscs.edu

D

Karen Dahlgren
Old Main 230, Student Success
karen.dahlgren@ndscs.edu

Nicole Davis
Haverty Hall 101, Financial Aid
nicole.i.davis@ndscs.edu

Hannah Devine
Wahpeton, Student
hannah.devine@ndscs.edu

Karla Dickerson
Haverty Hall 101, Registrar's Office
karla.dickerson@ndscs.edu

John "Matt" Diischer
Riley Hall 137, Residential Life
matt.diischer@ndus.edu

Sheila Dolan
Haverty Hall 101, Financial Aid
sheila.dolan@ndscs.edu

Thomas Dryburgh
Bilkre Activities Center 190, Athletics Department
thomas.dryburgh@ndscs.edu

Kassie Dumont
Robertson Hall 131, Residential Life
kassie.dumont@ndscs.edu

F

Gary Furness
Patterson Maintenance, Facilities Management
gary.furness@ndscs.edu

Hannah Franks
Haverty Hall 101, Admissions
hannah.franks@ndscs.edu

G

Jason Gallaher
Wahpeton, Student
​jason.gallaher@ndscs.edu

Chantel Ganser
Wahpeton, Student
chantel.ganser@ndscs.edu

Sandi Gilbertson
Haverty 126, Human Resources
Sandi.Gilbertson@ndscs.edu

Allison Gomes
Old Main 110A, Student Success
allison.gomes@ndscs.edu

H

Alissa Herbranson
Riley Hall 130, Residential Life
alissa.herbranson@ndscs.edu

Melanie Herding
Riley Hall 113, Student Health and Counseling
melanie.herding@ndscs.edu

Liza Hinrichs
Riley Hall 130, Residential Life
Liza.Hinrichs@ndscs.edu

Kijia Homes
Old Main 340, Student Success
kijia.homes@ndscs.edu

Alyssa Hunter
Wahpeton, Student
alyssa.hunter@ndscs.edu

Rj Hutcherson
Wahpeton, Student
Ronald.hutcherson@ndscs.edu

J

Jessica Johnson
Wahpeton, Student
jessica.johnson.22@ndscs.edu

Erin Johnson
Old Main 130E, Student Success
erin.j.johnson@ndscs.edu

Melissa Johnson
Riley Hall 130, Student and Residential Life
melissa.j.johnson.3@ndscs.edu

Jim Johnson
Twin Cities, Enrollment Services
James.Johnson.2@ndscs.edu

K

Maria Kaduc
Old Main 140A, Academic Services
Maria.Kaduc@ndscs.edu

Joseph "Joe" Khalifa
Wahpeton, Student
joseph.khalifa@ndscs.edu

Kerri Kava
Student Center 148, Student Life
Kerri.Kava@ndscs.edu

L

Riley Leedahl
Wahpeton, Student
riley.leedahl@ndscs.edu

Crystal Lovik
Haverty Hall 101, Financial Aid
crystal.lovik@ndscs.edu

M

Sara Mack
NDSCS-Fargo 183C, Student Success
Sara.Mack@ndscs.edu

Ronda Marmam
NDSCS-Fargo 161, English and Humanities
ronda.marman@ndscs.edu

Francis Martinson
Fargo, Student
​francis.martinson@ndscs.edu

Bethany Mauch
Riley Hall 107, Student Health and Counseling
bethany.mauch@ndscs.edu

Tamara Metzen
Old Main 130D, Student Success
Tamara.Metzen@ndscs.edu

Samantha Meyer-Perales
Wahpeton, Student
samantharae.meyerper@ndscs.edu

N

Carin Nielson
Old Main 115, Student Success Center
carin.nielson@ndscs.edu

O

Ashley Olson
Wahpeton, Student
ashley.madalyn.olson@ndscs.edu

P

Jane Passa
Blikre Activities Center 190, Athletics
jane.passa@ndscs.edu

Daniella Perez
Wahpeton, Student
daniella.perez@ndscs.edu

Ashley Pfeiler
Wahpeton, Student
ashley.pfeiler@ndscs.edu

Vince Plummer
Riley Hall 113, Student Counseling
vince.plummer@ndscs.edu

Sybil Priebe
Haverty Hall 223, English/Humanities
sybil.priebe@ndscs.edu

Fidelia Przymus
Wahpeton, Student
fidelia.przymus@ndscs.edu

R

Heather Retzer
Old Main 340C, Student Success
heather.retzer@ndscs.edu

S

Char Schuler
Old Main 436, Social and Behavioral Science
Charlotte.Schuler@ndscs.edu

Fern Sessing
Riley Hall 130, Residential Life
fern.sessing@ndscs.edu

Alissa Sherven
Hektner Student Center 146, Student Life
alissa.sherven@ndscs.edu

Taylor Sonaram
Wahpeton, Student
taylor.sonaram@ndscs.edu

Jaclyn Steenblock
Old Main 130, Student Success
jaclyn.steenblock@ndscs.edu

T

Mindy Tayer
Old Main 110B, Student Success
mindy.manocktayer@ndscs.edu

Cloy Tobola
Hektner Student Center 162A, Information Technology Services
cloy.tobola@ndscs.edu

V

Jane Vangsness Frisch
Old Main 340D, Student Success
jane.vangness@ndscs.edu

Victoria Vertin
Wahpeton, Student
Victoria.vertin@ndscs.edu

Georgia Vosberg
Old Main 230, Student Success
georgia.vosberg@ndscs.edu

W

Davis Waldron
Wahpeton, Student
davis.waldron@ndscs.edu

Adrianna Winter
Wahpeton, Student
adrianna.winter@ndscs.edu

Lisa Wixo
Old Main 340B, Student Success
​Lisa.Wixo@ndscs.edu

Y

Colby Youngquist
Robertson Hall 131, Residential Life
c.youngquist@ndscs.edu

Safe Zone Training
Level 1: Becoming an Ally

The goal of this introductory training session is to provide basic information about sexual orientation, especially as it relates to NDSCS students, faculty and staff. Topics addressed include an overview of relevant terminology, the coming out process and how to be an ally for someone who identifies as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or queer. Participants at this training session will have an opportunity to make a personal commitment to becoming an NDSCS Safe Zone Ally - however, becoming an ally is not a requirement of this Level 1 training session.

Upcoming Level 1 Training

Wahpeton Location: All trainings held in the Hektner Student Center - Plains Room from 12-1 p.m.

  • September 17
  • November 19
  • January 23
  • March 25

Fargo Location: All trainings are held from 12-1 p.m.

  • September 12 - Room 105
  • December 4 - Room TBD
  • February 27 - Room 105
Level 2: Gender Identity

This training session includes a terminology refresher, along with new material and is designed specifically for current allies. While continuing education is important, you do not have to participate in Level 2 to be an ally or continue allyship.

Upcoming Level 2 Training

Wahpeton Location: All trainings held in the Hektner Student Center Plains Room from 12-1 p.m.

  • October 16 (Refresher Training + Level 2)  
  • December 5 (Refresher Training + Level 2) 
  • February 20 (Refresher Training + Level 2)
  • April 22 (Refresher Training + Level 2)

Fargo Location: All trainings are held in Room 105 from 12-1 p.m.

  • November 7 (Refresher Training + Level 2)
  • March 26 (Refresher Training + Level 2)