80 participate in American Legion Boys State on NDSCS Campus

Paul Moffet of Barney has been elected Governor of North Dakota Boys State, a gathering of 80 participants this week on the North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS) campus in Wahpeton.

Sponsored by the American Legion and running from June 8-13, North Dakota Boys State brings together outstanding young men between their junior and senior years in high school. Selected from schools across North Dakota, these delegates come to the NDSCS campus for a week of activities focusing on government and democracy.

At North Dakota Boys State, delegates participate in hands-on learning activities including city and county government functions, disaster simulation exercises and the publication of a daily newspaper that is written and edited by delegates. In addition to this “learning by doing” process, delegates have the opportunity to experience speeches and debates from visiting dignitaries.

In addition to electing a governor, delegates also elected several other state office-holders including: Lieutenant Governor Jorun Hamre of Leonard, Secretary of State Talon Staudinger of Bismarck, Attorney General Spencer Rebousky of Park River, State Treasurer Carson Roney of Oakes, Agriculture Commissioner Brenden Carter of Forest River and Superintendent of Public Instruction Alexander Delzer of Bismarck.

NDSCS has been the host of Boys State for 20 consecutive years. Frequent visitors to the program include: U.S. Senator John Hoeven, U.S. Senator Heidi Heitkamp, U.S. Representative Kevin Cramer and Lieutenant Governor Drew Wrigley.

Participants in the 73rd annual American Legion Boys State at NDSCS include:

Adams: Michael Nord

Barney: Paul Moffet

Bismarck: Alexander Delzer; Samuel Desir; Adam Fritz; Colin Hart; Talon Staudinger

Casselton: Ian Saum

Clifford: Keegan Elliott

Dickinson: Tanner Binstock; Quaid Larsen; Marc Michaelson

Enderlin: Graham Hurlburt

Fairmount: Preston Teske

Fargo: Justin Benson; Abram Budge; Davis Ekman; John Harris; Chad Lystad; John Mayer; Bruce Mizero; Jacob Mogck; Zachary Trotter; Charles Weber

Fordville: Joshua Ruzicka

Forest River: Brendan Carter; Jarek Paschke

Grace City: Joseph Vollmer

Grafton: Adam Barclay; Brent Loftsgard

Grand Forks: Ty Boucher; Toby Mause

Granville: David Enriquez

Hankinson: Martin Krump; Daniel Round

Hatton: Dean Ott

Hazen: Patrick McCarthy

Hettinger: Samuel Kludt

Hillsboro: Evan Kritzberger

Hope: Hunter Huschka

Hunter: Brian Schreiner

Inkster: Kieran Anderson

Jamestown: Daniel Reimers

Larimore: Alex Mutch; Seth Pifer

Leonard: Jorun Hamre

Lisbon: Benjamin Gemar; Kyle Lere

Makoti: Austin Schenfisch

McClusky: Levi Larson; Derek Mortenson

McHenry: Carson Quam

New Salem: Joshua Erfle

New Town: Nicolas Curren

Oakes: Kollen Knutson; Brady Ptacek; Carson Roney; Ethan Zetocha

Page: Brady Munro

Park River: Cadyn Hunter; Spencer Rebousky

Pisek: Wyatt Wasylow

Portland: Jacob Reynolds

Rutland: Donovan Juelfs

Sarles: Dominic Murphy; Brady Samuelson

Tioga: Casey Jensen

Underwood: Devyn Schmitcke

Wahpeton: Ian Ehrens; Trent Engstrom; Flint Litten

Walcott: Cade Koenig

Walhalla: Brandon Melsted

West Fargo: Logan Balvik; Bennett Benson; Jarrett Lardy; Hunter Staska

Wildrose: Atati Mita

Williston: Terin Lucero

Wimbledon: Anthony Plumb

« Back

Oops! It appears your browser is no longer supported.

You have a few options from this point. The first and most recommended option would be to download one of the browsers below. If that is not possible, the second suggestion would be to update your current browser, you can follow the update link below for that. Otherwise, the site will still function in its current state, but in a limited capacity.

New Browsers