NDUS: Students Named to the 2015 All-North Dakota Academic Team

Seven North Dakota community college students have been named to the 2015 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. They will be honored at a dinner and awards ceremony at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, March 4, at Bismarck State College’s National Energy Center of Excellence. North Dakota University System Interim Chancellor Larry C. Skogen will be the keynote speaker for this year’s program.

Members of the 2015 All-North Dakota Academic Team, their hometowns and the colleges they attend are:

  • Dylan Horner, Mandan, Bismarck State College
  • Patrick Thomas, Devils Lake, Lake Region State College
  • Brandon Tofte, Devils Lake, Lake Region State College
  • Sara Holcomb, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science
  • Hunter Onchuck, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science
  • Whitney Brandvold, Bottineau, Dakota College at Bottineau
  • Haley Mastvelten, Bottineau, Dakota College at Bottineau

"These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement," said Skogen. "Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that reflects positively on both the students and their colleges. This is another example of how students who attend North Dakota's community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education."

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team will receive a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Jack Dalrymple, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Team members are also eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota. The University of Mary and University of Jamestown also offer awards to All-North Dakota Academic Team members.

Press Release from ndus.edu

« Back

Oops! It appears your browser is no longer supported.

You have a few options from this point. The first and most recommended option would be to download one of the browsers below. If that is not possible, the second suggestion would be to update your current browser, you can follow the update link below for that. Otherwise, the site will still function in its current state, but in a limited capacity.

New Browsers