NDSCS Students excel at North Dakota SkillsUSA Contest

NDSCS students take first place in 17 state categories

Students from the North Dakota State College of Science won a number of awards at the 41st Annual North Dakota SkillsUSA State Leadership and Skills Conference, which was hosted by NDSCS on the Wahpeton campus this spring.

NDSCS competed against Bismarck State College, United Tribes Technical College and Williston State College to take gold in 17 different categories with 35 students placing in the top three. By achieving gold medals at the state level, 17 NDSCS students earned an invitation and qualified to compete in their respective national categories at the 50th Annual National Leadership and Skills Conference in Kansas City, Mo., scheduled for June 23-27.

The NDSCS students receiving gold, silver or bronze medals include:


Bismarck: Landon Schmidt, Electrical Construction Wiring – 1st Place
Buffalo Springs: Dylan Titus, CNC Turning – 1st Place
Devils Lake: Jacob Lagasse, Welding Fab – 1st Place; Ethan Wang, Welding Fab – 1st Place
Dickinson: Michael Petersen, Diesel Equipment Technology – 3rd Place
Fargo: Austin Olin, Power Equipment Technology – 3rd Place; Dan Meckle, Welding Sculpture – 1st Place
Grand Forks: Shelby Regimbal, Architectural Drafting – 1st Place; Zachary Winkler, Automotive Service Technology – 1st Place; Katlyn Haney, Culinary Arts – 1st Place
Minot: Matthew Niess, Precision Machining Technology – 1st Place
Sentinel Butte: Bobby Szudera, Welding – 1st Place
Wahpeton: Matt Anderson, Automotive Refinish Technology – 1st Place; Saskia Hindersmann, Culinary Arts – 2nd Place; David Lohstreter, CNC Milling – 1st Place; Tom Monroe, Power Equipment Technology – 2nd Place; Kris Rinnels, Power Equipment Technology – 1st Place; Presly Ulen, Welding – 2nd Place
West Fargo: Tanner Schiffner, Automotive Service Technology – 3rd Place
Wilton: John Berndt, Diesel Equipment Technology – 2nd Place
Wishek: Dillon Braaten, Welding – 3rd Place
Zap: Brooke Renner, Diesel Equipment Technology – 1st Place


Moorhead: Scott Dandurand, Welding Sculpture – 3rd Place
Owatonna: Brandon Hager, Plumbing – 2nd Place; Nathan Hager, Welding Sculpture – 2nd Place
Park Rapids: Fred Stinar, Architectural Drafting – 3rd Place
Rothsay: Andrea Froslie, Culinary Arts – 3rd Place
Savage: Matt Omodt, Collision Repair Technology – 1st Place
Viking: Jonathan Hestekind, Automotive Service Technology – 2nd Place


Glendive: Tyler Sadorf, Welding Fab – 1st Place


Britton: Andy Weber, Collision Repair Technology – 2nd Place
Huron: Robert Friedrichsen, Precision Machining Technology – 2nd Place
Leola: Lucas Geffre, Automotive Refinish Technology – 2nd Place
Webster: Chris Gravley, Architectural Drafting – 2nd Place


Lenoir City: Galen Staunton, Plumbing – 1st Place

« Back

Oops! It appears your browser is no longer supported.

You have a few options from this point. The first and most recommended option would be to download one of the browsers below. If that is not possible, the second suggestion would be to update your current browser, you can follow the update link below for that. Otherwise, the site will still function in its current state, but in a limited capacity.

New Browsers