125 participate in American Legion Boys State on NDSCS Campus

Reed Johnson of Dickinson has been elected Governor of North Dakota Boys State, a gathering of 125 participants this week on the North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS) campus in Wahpeton. Johnson is a student at Dickinson High School. Boys State runs from June 8-13.

Sponsored by the American Legion, North Dakota Boys State brings together outstanding young men between their junior and senior years in high school. Selected from schools across North Dakota, these delegates come to the NDSCS campus for a week of activities focusing on government and democracy.

At North Dakota Boys State, delegates participate in hands-on learning activities including city and county government functions, disaster simulation exercises and the publication of a daily newspaper that is written and edited by delegates. In addition to this “learning by doing” process, delegates have the opportunity to experience speeches and debates from visiting dignitaries.

In addition to electing a governor, delegates also elected several other state office-holders including: Ethan Schwalk of Turtle Lake as Lieutenant Governor, Roman Frias of Minot as Secretary of State, Carter Schimke of Argusville as Attorney General, Kristsakorn “Ben” Twist of Dickinson as State Treasurer, Gannon Karsky of Dickinson as State Auditor, Mark Hintz of Flasher as Commissioner of Agriculture, Joel Weber of Wishek as Superintendent of Public Instruction and Zach Frank of Lidgerwood as Public Service Commissioner.

NDSCS has been the host of Boys State for 19 consecutive years. Frequent visitors to the program include: U.S. Senator John Hoeven, U.S. Senator Heidi Heitkamp, Lieutenant Governor Drew Wrigley and former Buffalo Bills defensive end Phil Hanson.

Participants in the 72nd annual American Legion Boys State at NDSCS include:

Adams: Colton Skorheim
Alamo: Cole Willette
Argusville: Seth Adkins; Carter Schimke
Arthur: Ben Longlet
Beach: Trevor Chaisson
Belcourt: Waylon DeCoteau; Tristan DeCoteau
Bismarck: Prajwal Bharadwaj; Gabe Cavender; Andrew Kohler
Burlington: Aaron Kabanuk
Carson: Jacob Selstedt
Casselton: Ben Nelson
Christine: Connor Knudsen
Cleveland: Cody Montgomery
Dickinson: Rakem Gage; Tristin Haaland; Reed Johnson; Gannon Karsky; Tony Kostelecky; Benjamin Pitkin; Christopher Prchal; Kristsakorn Twist
Ellendale: Dahltin Pahl
Fargo: Gregory Beauclair; Benson Boulger; Ty Duncan; Dondre Durham; Thomas Eide; Kristopher Flagtwet; Lukas Maughan; Jared Melville; Jamal Omar; Cole Schmidt; John Stennes; Seth Wolf
Flasher: Mark Hintz
Forest River: Nathan Bartuska
Forman: Josh Christianson; Tyler Peterson
Galesburg: Hunter Bring; Ethan Johnson
Grand Forks: Chase Christen; Zachary Relling; Sam Shafer; Cole Ternes
Grenora: Dalton Weeks
Hankinson: Jared Hoglin; Kristian Keoke; Carter Mauch; Wyatt Wilm
Havana: John Carl Brummond; Austin Lehmann; Thomas Smith
Hillsboro: Andrew Nilles; Michael Nilles; Miquel Ochoa
Hoople: Alex Iverson
Hope: Alex Kingston; Hunter Werkman
Horace: Conrad Kranz; Nicholas Pfeifer; Devon Stroh
Hunter: Dale Brayton
Inkster: Kyle Becker; Michael Durkin
Lakota: Carter Hendrickson
Lankin: Esten Beneda
Larimore: Adam Bill
Lidgerwood: Zach Frank; Seth Harles; Chase Heley; Kellen Jorgenson
Lisbon: Brady Matheny; Colton Schock
Luverne: Sully Breckheimer
Mandaree: Lathan Smith
Mayville: Logan Johnson
McVille: Jacob Quanbeck
Minot: Ryan Bent; Roman Frias; Tanner Kadlec; Justin Kovich; Liam Thrailkill
Mooreton: Grady Mauch
Northwood: Dalton Erickson
Page: Phil Johnson; Levi Mack
Petersburg: Aaron Trenda
Plaza: Hunter Andes
Richardton: Daniel Schwartz
Rutland: Kian McKibben
Scranton: Jordan Bloomgren
Turtle Lake: Jake Hanson; Austin Keller; Jared Mitzel; Ethan Schwalk
Valley City: Alex Wittenberg
Walhalla: Braden Fraser
Watford City: James Wahus
West Fargo: Andy Boyer; Cody Eisenbeisz
Wishek: Joel Weber
Wyndmere: Brian Schmit

« Back

Oops! It appears your browser is no longer supported.

You have a few options from this point. The first and most recommended option would be to download one of the browsers below. If that is not possible, the second suggestion would be to update your current browser, you can follow the update link below for that. Otherwise, the site will still function in its current state, but in a limited capacity.

New Browsers