NDSCS Employees Honored at Employee Recognition Program

North Dakota State College of Science honored numerous employees at the annual Employee Recognition Program on April 27, 2018. Faculty and staff members were named recipients of the College’s Excellence in Teaching Award and Excellence in Service Award as well as the College’s annual LIFE and Steeple awards for the 2017-2018 academic year.

The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes instructors who, among other outstanding characteristics, demonstrate competence and sincere interest in their subjects, present material in a suitable, well-integrated fashion and encourage participation from students. Selection criteria include student evaluations, feedback and deliberations by a selection committee comprised of faculty members and students. This year’s recipients were chosen from a group of more than 40 nominees. The honorees are:

  • Larissa Gilbertson: Associate Professor, Academic Services Center
  • Char Schuler: Assistant Professor, Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • Jane Krump: Professor/Department Chair, Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • Jeri Christiansen: Associate Professor, Nursing

The Excellence in Service Award recognizes employees who consistently go above and beyond every day and exemplify the College’s values of learning, integrity, flexibility and excellence. Nominations are open to those serving in the professional, office support, technical, paraprofessional, trades and service positions that are not on probationary status with recipients chosen by the President and Vice Presidents. The honorees are:

  • Billie Jo Hendrickson: Building Services Supervisor, Facilities Management
  • John Lesch: ITS Service Desk Specialist, Information Technology Services
  • Shannon Dyrness: Administrative Secretary, Distance Education
  • Vince Plummer: Personal Counselor, Student Health and Counseling Services

This year’s LIFE award recognized Network and Information Technology Security Coordinator Chris Kelsen. The award is presented to an individual, employee group or committee for developing and implementing an action plan for Strategic Planning or Academic Quality Improvement Project goals. Kelsen was recognized for his work in a number of important Information Technology Services efforts that have significantly improved the technology services that support the success of NDSCS students and employees. Chris led an extensive upgrade of the College's data network, including upgrading network hardware and implementing network routing. This was completed on a live network and Kelsen handled unexpected challenges with flexibility, professionalism and creative thinking.

This year’s Steeple award was presented to the NSF ATE North Dakota Weld Grant. The recipients included Welding Technology faculty Clint Gilbertson, Joel Johnson, Vance Harthun, Lee Larson and Mitch Van Vleet. The Steeple award stands for “Climbing New Heights” and is presented to an individual, employee group or committee for new and innovative methods to accomplish their role on campus. With the grant, NDSCS will prepare pathways for North Dakota secondary Career and Technical Education (CTE) schools to articulate Welding education at NDSCS, and ultimately increase the number of skilled welding employees in the industry. NDSCS will develop common curriculum, teacher training, assessment and industry credentials for participating North Dakota CTE welding programs.

Excellence in Teaching Recipients pictured left to right: Larissa Gilbertson, Jeri Christiansen, Char Schuler, Jane Krump.
Excellence in Service Recipients pictured left to right: Vince Plummer, Shannon Dyrness, Billie Jo Hendrickson, John Lesch.
LIFE and Steeple Award Recipients pictured left to right: Clint Gilbertson, Chris Kelsen. Not pictured: Joel Johnson, Vance Harthun, Lee Larson, Mitch Van Vleet.


« Back

Oops! It appears your browser is no longer supported.

You have a few options from this point. The first and most recommended option would be to download one of the browsers below. If that is not possible, the second suggestion would be to update your current browser, you can follow the update link below for that. Otherwise, the site will still function in its current state, but in a limited capacity.

New Browsers