Safe Zone

NDSCS: A Place for Everyone

All students, faculty and staff deserve to learn in an environment that’s supportive and friendly, regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity/expression.

Safe Zone is a program designed to:

  • Educate people about sexual orientation and gender identity/expression issues.
  • Create a visible network of Allies to provide support to the NDSCS lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) community.
  • Provide accurate information about sexual orientation and gender identity/expression issues and resources within the community.

Safe Zone Allies are not personal counselors, but they offer a safe place for LGBTQ individuals to be themselves. An ally listens. An ally respects confidentiality. An ally offers support, personally and through outside resources and referrals. An ally understands!

Look for the Safe Zone Symbol

Anyone displaying the Safe Zone symbol has committed to being an understanding, supportive and trustworthy Ally for LGBTQ members of our College community. This person can also be counted upon to provide accurate information about sexual orientation and gender identity issues.

NDSCS Allies

The Safe Zone program is growing at NDSCS – check often to see our updated list of allies. Also, the Student Advocate is available in Old Main and coordinates the Safe Zone program.

Safe Zone Allies are not personal counselors, but they offer a safe place for LGBTQ individuals to be themselves. An ally listens. An ally respects confidentiality. An ally offers support, personally and through outside resources and referrals. An ally understands!

NDSCS Ally List

A

Dana Anderson
Haverty Hall 216, English/Humanities
dana.anderson@ndscs.edu

Nicole Ashe
NDSCS-Fargo 183F, Enrollment Services
nicole.ashe@ndscs.edu

B

Mindi Bessler
Old Main 230A, Academic Services
mindi.bessler@ndscs.edu

Kristin Brevik
Horton Hall 227/Fargo, Outreach
kristin.brevik@ndscs.edu

Cheryl Brown
Haverty 228, Math and Science
Cheryl.m.Brown@ndscs.edu

C

Andrea Clinkscales
Student
clinkscalesandrea@gmail.com

D

Taylor Daede
Student
taydaede@hotmail.com

Lee Deuser
NDSCS-Fargo 147D/Old Main 140, Academic Services
cindy.deuser@ndscs.edu

Tom Dryburgh
BAC 190, Athletics
thomas.dryburgh@ndscs.edu

F

Brooke Fischer
Student
brooke.fisher@ndscs.edu

G

Larissa Gilbertson
Old Main 140, Student Success ASC
Larissa.Gilbertson@ndscs.edu

Sandi Gilbertson
Haverty 126, Human Resources
Sandi.Gilbertson@ndscs.edu

Sheila Goettle
Allied Health Center 213, Nursing
Sheila.Goettle@ndscs.edu

Heather Goroski
Old Main 340B, Student Success
heather.goroski@ndscs.edu

Sheyenne Grenier
Student
sheye.megrenier@gmail.com

H

Amber Hage
Riley Hall 130, Residential Life
amber.hage@ndscs.edu

Alissa Herbranson
Riley Hall 130, Residential Life
alissa.herbranson@ndscs.edu

Melanie Herding
Riley Hall 113, Student Health and Counseling
melanie.herding@ndscs.edu

Andrew Hileman
Riley Hall, Residential Life
andrew.hileman@ndscs.edu

Carson Hinrichs
Patterson Maintenance, Facilities
carson.hinrichs@ndscs.edu

Liza Hinrichs
Patterson Maintenance, Facilities
Liza.Hinrichs@ndscs.edu

Kijia Homes
Old Main 340, Student Success
kijia.homes@ndscs.edu

J

Dr. Kristi Jean
Fargo, Nanoscience
kristi.jean@ndscs.edu

Melissa Johnson
Riley Hall 130, Student and Residential Life
melissa.j.johnson.3@ndscs.edu

Erin Johnson
Old Main 130D, Student Success
erin.j.johnson@ndscs.edu

Megan Johnson
BAC, Athletics
megan.johnson.5@ndscs.edu

Jim Johnson
Twin Cities, Enrollment Services
James.Johnson.2@ndscs.edu

K

Maria Kaduc
Old Main 140A, Academic Services
Maria.Kaduc@ndscs.edu

Kerri Kava
Student Center 146, Student Life
Kerri.Kava@ndscs.edu

M

Sara Mack
Old Main 110A, Student Success
Sara.Mack@ndscs.edu

Ronda Marmam
Fargo 135, English and Humanities
ronda.marman@ndscs.edu

Jacquelyn Marquardt
Old Main 115, Student Success
jacquelyn.marquardt@ndscs.edu

Jessica Mastel
Student
jessica.k.mastel@ndscs.edu

Bethany Mauch
Riley Hall 107, Student Health and Counseling
bethany.mauch@ndscs.edu

Tamara Metzen
Old Main 130D, Student Success
Tamara.Metzen@ndscs.edu

Jordan Moline
Old Main 120, Student Success
Jordan.Moline@ndscs.eduf

P

Jane Passa
Blikre Activities Center 190, Athletics
jane.passa@ndscs.edu

Vince Plummer
Riley Hall 113, Student Counseling
vince.plummer@ndscs.edu

Sybil Priebe
Haverty Hall 223, English/Humanities
sybil.priebe@ndscs.edu

S

Char Schuler
Old Main 436, Social and Behavioral Science
Charlotte.Schuler@ndscs.edu

Tonya Stokka
Fargo, Student Success
tonya.stokka@ndscs.edu

T

Mindy Tayer
Old Main 110B, Student Success
mindy.manocktayer@ndscs.edu

Cloy Tobola
Student Center 163, ITS
Cloy.Tobola@ndscs.edu

Christine Tolles
Riley Hall 130, Residential Life
christine.tolles@ndscs.edu

V

Jane Vangsness Frisch
Old Main 340, Student Success
jane.vangness@ndscs.edu

Sarah Viseth
Haverty Hall 101, Enrollment Services
sarah.viseth@ndscs.edu

W

Lisa Wixo
Old Main 410B, Student Success
​Lisa.Wixo@ndscs.edu

Safe Zone Training

Level 1: Becoming an Ally

  • The goal of this introductory training session is to provide basic information about sexual orientation, especially as it relates to NDSCS students, faculty and staff. Topics addressed include an overview of relevant terminology, the coming out process and how to be an ally for someone who identifies as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or queer. Participants at this training session will have an opportunity to make a personal commitment to becoming an NDSCS Safe Zone Ally - however, becoming an ally is not a requirement of this Level 1 training session.
  • Upcoming Level 1 Training: February 23 | 12 – 1 p.m. | Plains Room and February 29 | 1 – 2 p.m. | NDSCS-Fargo Room 128

Levels 2 & 3

  • More information coming soon!

Oops! It appears your browser is no longer supported.

You have a few options from this point. The first and most recommended option would be to download one of the browsers below. If that is not possible, the second suggestion would be to update your current browser, you can follow the update link below for that. Otherwise, the site will still function in its current state, but in a limited capacity.

New Browsers

Updates

×