Safe Zone

NDSCS: A Place for Everyone

All students, faculty and staff deserve to learn in an environment that’s supportive and friendly, regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity/expression.

Safe Zone is a program designed to:

  • Educate people about sexual orientation and gender identity/expression issues.
  • Create a visible network of Allies to provide support to the NDSCS lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) community.
  • Provide accurate information about sexual orientation and gender identity/expression issues and resources within the community.

Safe Zone Allies are not personal counselors, but they offer a safe place for LGBTQ individuals to be themselves. An ally listens. An ally respects confidentiality. An ally offers support, personally and through outside resources and referrals. An ally understands!

Look for the Safe Zone Symbol

Anyone displaying the Safe Zone symbol has committed to being an understanding, supportive and trustworthy Ally for LGBTQ members of our College community. This person can also be counted upon to provide accurate information about sexual orientation and gender identity issues.

NDSCS Allies

The Safe Zone program is growing at NDSCS – check often to see our updated list of allies. Also, the Student Advocate is available in Old Main and coordinates the Safe Zone program.

Safe Zone Allies are not personal counselors, but they offer a safe place for LGBTQ individuals to be themselves. An ally listens. An ally respects confidentiality. An ally offers support, personally and through outside resources and referrals. An ally understands!

NDSCS Ally List

A

Dana Anderson
Haverty Hall 216, English/Humanities
dana.anderson@ndscs.edu

Nicole Ashe
NDSCS-Fargo 183F, Enrollment Services
nicole.ashe@ndscs.edu

B

Kathryn Beherns
Haverty 223, English/Humanities
kathryn.beherns@ndscs.edu

Sandra Benedict
Hektner Student Center
sandra.benedict@ndscs.edu

Shelley Blome
Haverty Hall 101, Financial Aid
shelley.blome@ndscs.edu

C

Allison Ching
Old Main 110A, Student Success
allison.ching@ndscs.edu

D

Sheila Dolan
Haverty Hall 101
sheila.dolan@ndscs.edu

F

Gary Furness
Patterson Maintenance, Facilities Management
gary.furness@ndscs.edu

G

Sandi Gilbertson
Haverty 126, Human Resources
Sandi.Gilbertson@ndscs.edu

H

Alissa Herbranson
Riley Hall 130, Residential Life
alissa.herbranson@ndscs.edu

Melanie Herding
Riley Hall 113, Student Health and Counseling
melanie.herding@ndscs.edu

Carson Hinrichs
Patterson Maintenance, Facilities
carson.hinrichs@ndscs.edu

Liza Hinrichs
Patterson Maintenance, Facilities
Liza.Hinrichs@ndscs.edu

Kijia Homes
Old Main 340, Student Success
kijia.homes@ndscs.edu

J

Melissa Johnson
Riley Hall 130, Student and Residential Life
melissa.j.johnson.3@ndscs.edu

Erin Johnson
Old Main 130E, Student Success
erin.j.johnson@ndscs.edu

Jim Johnson
Twin Cities, Enrollment Services
James.Johnson.2@ndscs.edu

K

Maria Kaduc
Old Main 140A, Academic Services
Maria.Kaduc@ndscs.edu

Kerri Kava
Student Center 148, Student Life
Kerri.Kava@ndscs.edu

Logan Kleinsasser
Nordgaard 122/Riley Hall 130, Residential Life
logan.kleinsasser@ndscs.edu

L

Crystal Lovik
Haverty Hall 101, Financial Aid
crystal.lovik@ndscs.edu

M

Sara Mack
NDSCS-Fargo 183C, Student Success
Sara.Mack@ndscs.edu

Ronda Marmam
NDSCS-Fargo 161, English and Humanities
ronda.marman@ndscs.edu

Jacquelyn Marquardt
Old Main 115, Student Success
jacquelyn.marquardt@ndscs.edu

Bethany Mauch
Riley Hall 107, Student Health and Counseling
bethany.mauch@ndscs.edu

Tamara Metzen
Old Main 130D, Student Success
Tamara.Metzen@ndscs.edu

P

Jane Passa
Blikre Activities Center 190, Athletics
jane.passa@ndscs.edu

Vince Plummer
Riley Hall 113, Student Counseling
vince.plummer@ndscs.edu

Sybil Priebe
Haverty Hall 223, English/Humanities
sybil.priebe@ndscs.edu

R

Heather Retzer
Old Main 340C, Student Success
heather.retzer@ndscs.edu

S

Char Schuler
Old Main 436, Social and Behavioral Science
Charlotte.Schuler@ndscs.edu

Alissa Sherven
Hektner Student Center 146, Student Life
alissa.sherven@ndscs.edu

Jaclyn Steenblock
Old Main 130, Student Success
jaclyn.steenblock@ndscs.edu

T

Mindy Tayer
Old Main 110B, Student Success
mindy.manocktayer@ndscs.edu

V

Jane Vangsness Frisch
Old Main 340D, Student Success
jane.vangness@ndscs.edu

W

Lisa Wixo
Old Main 340B, Student Success
‚ÄčLisa.Wixo@ndscs.edu

Safe Zone Training

Level 1: Becoming an Ally

The goal of this introductory training session is to provide basic information about sexual orientation, especially as it relates to NDSCS students, faculty and staff. Topics addressed include an overview of relevant terminology, the coming out process and how to be an ally for someone who identifies as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or queer. Participants at this training session will have an opportunity to make a personal commitment to becoming an NDSCS Safe Zone Ally - however, becoming an ally is not a requirement of this Level 1 training session.

Upcoming Level 1 Training

Wahpeton Location: All trainings held in the Hektner Student Center from 12-1 p.m.

  • February 9 - The Alley
  • March 13 - Plains Room
  • April 6 - Plains Room

Fargo Location: All trainings held in Room 116 from 12-1 p.m.

  • February 15
  • April 5

Upcoming Level 2 Training

Wahpeton Location: All trainings held in the Hektner Student Center from 12-1 p.m.

  • March 21 (Refresher Training + Level 2) - Red River Valley Room
  • April 17 (Refresher Training + Level 2) - Plains Room

Fargo Location: All trainings held in Room 116 from 12-1 p.m.

  • March 29 (Refresher Training + Level 2)
  • April 19 (Refresher Training + Level 2)

Oops! It appears your browser is no longer supported.

You have a few options from this point. The first and most recommended option would be to download one of the browsers below. If that is not possible, the second suggestion would be to update your current browser, you can follow the update link below for that. Otherwise, the site will still function in its current state, but in a limited capacity.

New Browsers

Updates

×