2021-22 Presidential Search

The North Dakota University System has launched a search for the next president of the North Dakota State College of Science.

The new NDSCS president will succeed Dr. John Richman, who will retire from the College on Dec. 17, 2021. The person selected for the presidency will assume office by July 2022.

Search Profile

More information coming soon.


The person selected for the presidency will assume office by July 2022.

More information coming soon.

Search Committee

Co-chairing the NDSCS Presidential Search Committee are Jeffry Volk, State Board of Higher Education member, and Terry Marohl, NDSCS associate professor and transportation department chair. 

Other committee members include: 

  • Amanda Edwards, NDSCS student
  • Keith Johnson, NDSCS chief financial officer
  • Steve Johnson, NDSCS associate professor and cluster chair for manufacturing technologies
  • Kelly Hubrig, wealth advisor at Bell Investments and NDSCS alumnus
  • Nicholas Kraft, NDSCS HVAC systems lead
  • Don Shilling, chairman of General Equipment and Supplies, Inc.
  • Leslie Shirek, NDSCS academic program outreach specialist
  • Tom Shorma, president of WCCO Belting, Inc.
  • Deb Smith, NDSCS associate professor and department chair for nursing

Ex-officio members of the committee include NDUS Chancellor Mark Hagerott and Lake Region State College President Doug Darling.  

The 13-member search committee represents a broad spectrum of NDSCS stakeholders, including students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the business community. Starting the search now ensures the process is aligned with the hiring cycle of campus executives.

Stakeholder Feedback

The NDSCS Presidential Search Committee requests feedback from all NDSCS stakeholders. Please click the button below to provide feedback.

The North Dakota University System Office is facilitating this feedback survey. NDUS Office personnel will only have access to the responses received through the survey. 

Stakeholder Survey

Contact Information

AGB Search
1133 20th St NW
Suite 300
Washington, DC 20036
Email: info@agbsearch.com

North Dakota University System
State Capitol – 600 E Boulevard Ave – Dept. 215
Bismarck ND 58505-0230
Email: ndus.office@ndus.edu